SAlSA!

Hello Everyone!

              My name is Kimberly Bonilla, I am a sophomore here, and my major is Biology. My future goal is to get into a Physician Assistant Program. I may have been born here, but my parents are from Costa Rica, my boyfriend is Mexican and I have many friends from all different parts of Central and South America. Therefore, I have experienced many different types of salsas from many different places, I am defiantly not one to like hot spicy salsas, or salsas with weird colors, like green or brown. My favorite salsa from all the different ones that I have tasted is nice and simple, Salsa Rosada, or Pink Sauce. Like me this salsa is nice a simple, just ketchup, mayo, lime juice and a little salt. This is a salsa is one that was introduced to me at a very young age and I still have not met a salsa to beat it. I feel that it relates to me because it is simple and smooth, I like to keep my life as smooth as possible; I know sometimes there are bumps along the road but nothing impossible. I know this salsa is so simple, but it taste great with my fries 🙂

    I have danced salsa before, it is not one of my favorites but I have danced it at parties.  A salsa song the represents me is “La Vida Es un Carnaval”  by Celia Cruz. “Life is a Carnival” is the translation to the title. This song talks about life how it can seem hard sometimes but it will just pass. This is song is a good cheer up song for when one is having a bad day.

Lyrics:

“Todo aquel que piense que está solo y que está mal
Tiene que saber que no es así
Que en la vida no hay nadie solo, siempre hay alguien”

Translation:

“Anyone thinking he’s alone and that that’s bad
Needs to know that’s not the case,
that in life no one is alone, there is always someone”

These lyrics represent me because there are some hard times when I feel alone, but I know that thankfully in my life I am never alone, I have a great family and a awesome boyfriend that are always there for me.

Link to the source: http://lyricstranslate.com/en/la-vida-es-un-carnaval-life-carnival-celia-cruz-life-carnival.html#ixzz2sUGXq9gi

http://www.mycolombianrecipes.com/salsa-rosada-or-salsa-golf (Recipe)

 

Leave a Reply

